I finally started to fulfill a goal I set when I retired. I bought some paints and three canvases and got down to trying my hand at acrylics. Not having touched them much since college I was a little nervous. Therefore it was really important to get everything set up right. Erica let me convert our closet sized second bedroom into a makeshift studio.

Finally I had to decide on a subject matter for these first paintings. The beauty of our surroundings is natural subject matter and often we’ll see easels up when out walking. Just last weekend we had glorious weather so we hiked Mt.Conwy nearby. It seemed like every turn had a scene worthy of a painting.

Our Llandudno home from Mt. Conwy

Our Llandudno home from Mt. Conwy

the castle from Mt. Conwy

the castle from Mt. Conwy

Of course the best part of the hike was the ‘penny poison’, a soft ice cream van at the trail head. 018 Now that’s hiking Welsh style. A few days ago we visited the gardens of an estate a few miles back from the coast. I’ve never seen such a profusion of flowers.

Bodnant Gardens

Bodnant Gardens

It was as if you sat down a moment you would be overgrown by flowers. bodnant 005

So you would think that my first paintings would be of some lovely scene in North Wales? No. Instead I chose San Francisco and weirder than that the scenes were from around where I last worked. Now isn’t that strange for a newly retired lad?

The pyramid building from Clay St in Chinatown on the way to work.

The pyramid building from Clay St in Chinatown on the way to work.

The pyramid building from my office in San Francisco.

The pyramid building from my office in San Francisco.

Toward the east from my office building.

Toward the east from my office building.

I’ll get around to Wales landscapes one of these days.

