Snowdonia is in autumnal flames and I had a front row seat on the beginning of our winter migration.llanrwst fall We are headed more or less down the prime meridian for Morocco.
We’ve pulled out the stopper for this trip. We upgraded wheels from the old French Citroen 003 to a newer Czech Skoda.001 I’ve also brought along my own chaufeusse. Well actually I was rejected for insurance on the new car, only because I had been driving illegally for two years, without a UK license. Can you believe it? So I’ve been consigned to the passenger seat, nose on the window watching mid-Wales turn autumn colors.santander 024 Things could be worse.
The Last Boat: On our last day in UK we had a lovely family visit in my favorite southwest town of Exeter. We were off early next morning to catch the ferry. Motorhomes lined up beside Plymouth harbor like snow birds on a wire waiting to board the last ferry of the season to Spain. Four hundred years ago pilgrims waited in the same harborside for the first boat to the colonies. santander 028 Our ferry was delayed due to a medical emergency. Some poor pensioner was taken off the boat while his car was somewhere below and bound for Spain.
Dolphin Sightings:dolphins Last month friends of ours kept their promise to take us to Newborough, their favorite place on Anglesea, the island in the northwest of Wales. There’s a magic sense to Newborough. A religious colony habited a small, high tide island just off the shore. The magic for me was my first sighting of dolphins in the UK. Dozens of them turned the waters off the island into Sea World. Back on the ferry, at dusk we sat at a window on the port bow and opened a bottle of Spanish wine to celebrate the crossing. Just for a joke I pointed out to sea and yelled “look, dolphins”. As if brought forth by my words two dolphins jumped a few yards off the boat. Magic? The last we saw of them they were headed straight for us, probably trying to catch the bow wave.
brittanyWe’re now in the port of Santander languidly watching the ships come and go. The languid part is due to the fact that they can’t get the bow door open for us to disembark. They are now about to turn the boat around to see if the rear can do want the front can’t 🙂 One of the problems of taking the last boat to Spain, I guess.

